Poland A Novel

All prices for 'Poland A Novel' include the approximate cost of delivery to an address within the US.
Right now on ebay

Right now on ebay

Online shop

Good 0449205878 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc.

Online shop

In America is a kaleidoscopic portrait of America on the cusp of modernity. As she did in her enormously popular novel The Volcano Lover, Susan Sontag casts a story located in the past in a fresh, provocative light to create a fictional world full of contemporary resonance. In 1876 a group of Poles led by Maryna Zalezowska, Poland's greatest actress, emigrate to the United States and travel to California to found a "utopian commune.

Online shop

Here are two major works by the famed Polish novelist and dramatist Witold Gombrowicz. The first, Cosmos, a metaphysical thriller, revolves around an absurd investigation. It is set in provincial Poland and narrated by a seedy, pathetic, and witty student, who is charming and appalling by turns, and whose voice is dense with the richly palpable description that characterizes Gombrowicz's writing.

Right now on ebay

Online shop

Fiction. First published in Poland in 1977 and in the US in 1982, this classic novel of life under Socialism is available again in a new translation. "The Polish Complex" is a powerful and engaging book, demonstrating how in the less fortunate parts of th

Right now on ebay

Right now on ebay

Online shop

An extraordinary novel inspired by true events. 1943. Tasa Rosinski and five relatives, all Jewish, escape their rural village in eastern Poland avoiding certain death and find refuge in a bunker beneath a barn built by their longtime employee. A decade earlier, ten-year-old Tasa dreams of someday playing her violin like Paganini. To continue her schooling, she leaves her family for a nearby town, joining older cousin Danik at a private Catholic academy where her musical talent flourishes despite escalating political tension.

Right now on ebay

Online shop

I, one Henryk Stanislaw Wyrzykowski, Head Clerk of Closed Files, a department of one, work. in a forgotten well of ghostly sighs This astonishing novel in verse tells the story of Henryk Wyrzykowski, a drifting, haunted young man hiding from the Vietnam War in the basement of a San Francisco welfare building and translating his mother's diaries. The diaries concern the Jedwabne massacre, an event that took place in German-occupied Poland in 1941.

Online shop

In this bitterly funny novel a writer finds himself tossed into a chaotic world of schoolboys by a diabolical professor who wishes to reduce him to childishness. Originally published in Poland in 1937, Ferdydurke was deemed scandalous and subversive by Nazis, Stalinists, and the Polish Communist regime in turn and was officially banned in Poland for decades.

Right now on ebay

Online shop

Lambda Literary Award Finalist Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBT Fiction Finalist Shortlisted for a ReLit Award Shortlisted for an Independent Literary Award This second novel by Lambda Literary Award finalist Daniel Allen Cox ("Shuck") is an incendiary story about two pyromaniacs who fight homophobia in Krakow, Poland, one of the fronts of the "Solidarnosc" revolution that eventually toppled the Berlin Wall in 1989.

Online shop

After the Nazis invaded Poland in 1939, they quickly began persecuting anyone who was Jewish. Millions were shoved into ghettos and forced to live under the swastika. Death camps were built and something called "Operation Reinhard" was set into motion. It

Online shop

Hela: A Novel of Science, Faith, Love and Poland

Online shop

Telling the epic story of Joseph Pilsudski, the father of Polish independence, this vivid biography reads like an adventure novel, including swashbuckling tales of both World Wars, a plot to kill the czar, Siberian exile, life in the underground, a dramatic prison escape, and one of the most successful train robberies in European history. Although he is largely either unknown or misunderstood in the West, Pilsudski was a consequential historical figure whose defeat of the Red Army in 1920 preserved Poland's sovereignty and quite possibly spared Europe from Bolshevik revolution.

Online shop

A gripping novel based on the astonishing true story of a boy who survived ten concentration camps. Ten concentration camps. Ten different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly. It's something no one could imagine surviving. But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face. As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis who have taken over.

Online shop

This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1891 edition. Excerpt: . CHAPTER IV. What had happene

Online shop

"Of course I had to end up here. " Over ten rainy nights, Thomas, an ex-bargeman who used to be skipper of his own boat, walks the muddy fields of the landlocked German interior and remembers the events that lost him his home, his boat, and his livelihood: his apprenticeship in the cold halls of the Royal Naval College in London; the dangers of the mean streets and waterfront of New York in the 1970s, and Poland under martial law; Germany after the reunification, when for a year or so it seemed that the whole country drifted rudderless, drawn by the current of history to who knows where.

Online shop

From the author of the bestselling Birdsong comes a powerful novel that melds the moral heft of Dickens and the scrupulous realism of Trollope with the satirical spirit of Tom Wolfe. London: the week before Christmas, 2007. Over seven days we follow the lives of seven major characters: a hedge fund manager trying to bring off the biggest trade of his career; a professional footballer recently arrived from Poland; a young lawyer with little work and too much time to speculate; a student who has been led astray by Islamist theory; a hack book reviewer; a schoolboy hooked on reality TV and genetically altered pot; and a Tube train driver whose Circle Line train joins these and countless other lives together in a daily loop.

Online shop

Much more than a traditional guide book, this delightful travel novel immerses readers in Polish life. An enthralling account of Philip Ward's experiences in Poland, this book also includes amusing anecdotes as well as fascinating and lesser-known cultura

Online shop

Henryk Adam Aleksander Pius Sienkiewicz (1846-1916) was a Polish journalist and Nobel Prize-winning novelist. In Poland, he is best known for his historical novels "With Fire and Sword," "The Deluge," and the "Fire in the Steppe" trilogy.

Online shop

Henryk Adam Aleksander Pius Sienkiewicz (1846-1916) was a Polish journalist and Nobel Prize-winning novelist. In Poland, he is best known for his historical novels "With Fire and Sword," "The Deluge," and the "Fire in the Steppe" trilogy.

Online shop

New York Times"Bestseller "Exquisite." "The Wall Street Journal"This is masterly storytelling." "The New York Times Book Review" A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of "All the Light We Cannot See "and "The Book Thief." Krakow, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs.

Online shop

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline's world is forever changed when Hitler's army invades Poland in September 1939-and then sets its sights on France.

Online shop

Modern-day America. Fifteen Boy Scouts and their seven adult leaders are found to have committed suicide in the forest of a scout reservation. One of the dead boys is a friend of Sparky Wallace, whose father Jack runs a Polish restaurant in Chicago. Drawn into investigating the suicides, Jack discovers a connection with his own grandfather, who killed himself in the Kampinos Forest in Poland when he was fighting the Nazis in World War II.

Right now on ebay

Online shop

Maslowska is a phenomenon in Poland. Her first best-selling novel earned her acclaim at just 18.

Online shop

"An Estate of Memory" is a spiritual novel of growth and regeneration, even in the midst of brutality and death, that recreates in precise detail the daily lives of Jewish women in a Nazi concentration camp in Poland. The taste and feel of the days and se

Right now on ebay

Online shop

"Heart of Darkness" author Joseph Conrad (born Jozef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski in 1857) was a Polish writer who learned to read, write, and speak English after he was granted British nationality in 1886. Although his peers accepted him as a British gentleman, he never forgot where he came from. In fact, the history of his native land of Poland often inspired the short stories and novels he penned.

Online shop

Acclaimed as a technothriller set in the age of the Medicis by Publishers Weekly, Eric Flint's bestselling Ring of Fire series has redefined the alternate-history genre. In this tenth novel, auto mechanic Bernie Zeppi heads to Moscow to bring Russia into the Industrial Revolution three hundred years ahead of schedule. War with Poland looms, but Bernie is more focused on a beautiful Russian noblewoman.

Online shop

In this sweeping novel, James A. Michener chronicles eight tumultuous centuries as three Polish families live out their destinies. The Counts Lubonski, the petty nobles Bukowksi, and the peasants Buk are at some times fiercely united, at others tragically divided. With an inspiring tradition of resistance to brutal invaders, from the barbarians to the Nazis, and a heritage of pride that burns through eras of romantic passion and courageous solidarity, their common story reaches a breathtaking culmination in the historic showdown between the ruthless Communists and rebellious farmers of the modern age.

Online shop

Providing an assessment of Jewish identity, this volume presents critical engagements with a number of Jewish writers and filmmakers from a variety of European countries, including Austria, France, Germany, Poland, and the UK. The novels and films discussed explore the meaning of being Jewish in Europe today, and investigate the extent to which this experience is shaped by factors that lie outside the national context, notably by the relationship to Israel.