America The Beautiful A Novel

Alle Preise verstehen sich für die 'America The Beautiful A Novel' sind die ungefähren Kosten der Lieferung an eine Adresse in Deutschland.
Online shop

Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate").

Online shop

In this evocative and meticulously detailed novel about the last romance of one of America's greatest literary couples, R. Clifton Spargo crafts an exhilarating portrait of the passionate yet tragically dysfunctional relationship between F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. In 1939 Scott is living in Hollywood, a virulent alcoholic and deeply in debt. Despite his relationship with gossip columnist Sheila Graham, he remains fiercely loyal to Zelda, his soul mate and muse.

Amazon

Online shop

F. Scott Fitzgerald was an American author, famous for his Jazz Age novels and short stories, including This Side of Paradise, The Beautiful and the Damned, Tales of the Jazz Age, and the Great Gatsby. Fitzgerald and his peers were part of the "Lost Generation," a group of artists and writers who came of age at the time of the Great War. Writers during this period expressed the alienation and loss felt from the war and the subsequent rush of life during the "Roaring Twenties.

Amazon

Unusual book

Online shop

A riotous, beautiful, totally original road novel masquerading as a travel book. Sundeen's America, comprised of equal parts Gorgeous and Awful, absolutely shimmers with life. The prose is pure, wild, naive, and poetic; the characters leap off the page in

Online shop

An NPR Best Book of 2014 A Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers selection A "bleak and brilliant" ( Minneapolis Star Tribune ) debut novel, "one of the finest evocations of life in Western America in recent memory, a book that stands alongside Richard Ford's Rock Springs, Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping, James Welch's Fools Crow." (William Kittredge) Steeped in a lonesome Montana landscape as unyielding and raw as it is beautiful, Kim Zupan's The Ploughmen is a new classic in the literature of the American West.

Gerade jetzt bei ebay

Online shop

Gene Denson, a retired college history professor and the author of five historical novels, explores the events of unrest in the Philippines as the United States seeks an empire. Against the background of Jose Rizal's execution, an American boy, thrown onto the streets of Manila by his drunken father, is rescued and adopted by a beautiful and lonely young Filipino woman.

Online shop

Jennifer and Rex Kelly were enjoying a life of wealth and privilege earned from their great success in the food and restaurant businesses, when they are forced to leave Jamaica in the late 1970s. They migrate to Queens, New York, where Donald, their son, meets the beautiful but troubled Anna Johnson, a woman who will change their lives forever. Honor Thy Mother, A Soldier's Story, is a fast paced novel that explores the spiritual, psychological, emotional and physical components of human relationships and takes us on an adventure from Jamaica, to America, to the Spangdahlem Air Base in Germany.

Online shop

Going the Distance" is a baseball novel with a difference; a multilayered love story, a celebration of both America s game and the New York landscape. John Jack Flynn was a major league pitcher with all-star promise. But on the day of the 1979 All-Star game, he finds himself back in the North Country of New York where he was born, his career cut short by an injury, no recollection as to how he came to be back there with a beautiful woman he doesn t recognize beside him in the passenger seat of his car.

Online shop

The definitive Philip Roth edition continues with three novels written in his late sixties and early seventies. "The Dying Animal "(2001) marks the final return of David Kepesh from "The Breast "(1972) and "The Professor"of Desire "(1977). Now an eminent cultural critic in his sixties, Kepesh expertly seduces a beautiful twenty-four-year-old daughter of Cuban exiles only to find himself torn by sexual jealousy and the anguish of loss.

Online shop

A sweeping, emotionally riveting first novel-an enthralling family saga of Africa and America, doctors and patients, exile and home. Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between a beautiful Indian nun and a brash British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine, the twins come of age as Ethiopia hovers on the brink of revolution.

Online shop

At just 30 years old, with dark-blonde hair and freckles, Barbara Weaver was as pretty as the women depicted on the covers of her favorite "bonnet" stories - romance novels set in Amish America. Barbara had everything she'd ever wanted: five beautiful children, a home, her faith, and a husband named Eli. But while Barbara was happy to live as the Amish have for centuries - without modern conveniences, Eli was tempted by technology: cell phones, the Internet, and sexting.

Online shop

Introducing Drew Farthing From The Tip oF His black Homburg to the crease in his cheviot trousers, he's the epitome of a stylish 1930s English gentleman. His only problem? The body he just discovered. Drew Farthering loves a good mystery, although he generally expects to find it in the pages of a novel, not on the grounds of his country estate. With the help of beautiful and whip-smart Madeline Parker, a guest from America, Drew proposes to use the lessons he's learned reading his mysteries to solve the crime.

Ähnliche Produkte

America The BeautifulPreis ab €2.35
A Beautiful ExchangePreis ab €4.29